I had a severe cold this past week and I really wanted chicken noodle soup. I’ve made it the past two winters when the weather was chilly. However, this time I was sick and would rather be sitting or laying in bed, then to stand over the stove. So I decided to cook it in a crockpot.

Ingredients:

  • 2-3 Chicken breasts (2 large or 3 medium)
  • 3 cubes of chicken bouillon
  • 1 Tbsp. Garlic powder
  • 1 Tbsp. Dried oregano
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 2 dashes of ground black pepper
  • 3 stalks Celery
  • 2 large Carrots
  • 1 medium Yellow Onion
  • 2 slices of ginger
  • 7 cups of water
  • 1 cup Egg noodles

Instructions:

  1. Wash the carrots and celery. Peel the carrots and cut off the tops & bottom ends, then chop them. Cut off the tops & bottom ends of the celery, then devein (remove the strings) before chopping them. Set the carrots and celery aside in a bowl.
  2. Cut off the top & bottom of the onion and peel off the top layer. Set it aside. Cut two slices of ginger and set aside.
  3. Wash the chicken breasts and cut off any fat. Place it in the crockpot.
  4. Crush the chicken bouillon cubes and sprinkle on top of the chicken breasts. Also sprinkle the garlic powder, oregano, salt and ground black pepper.
  5. Pour the carrots and celery on top. Put in the onion and ginger.
  6. Pour in 6 cups of water. Cover and cook on “High” for 4 hours.
  7. After 4 hours, scoop and toss out the ginger slices and onion. Then remove the chicken breasts with a pair of tongs. Cut the chicken into cubes and put back into the crockpot.
  8. Add 1 cup of water and pour in the egg noodles. Cover and cook for another 20 mins. (the time may vary depending on your crockpot and brand of egg noodles, so cook until your egg noodles are done).

My original (stove top) chicken noodles soup had chicken broth, garlic cloves and parsley. But I was out of those ingredients and had to improvise, still the crockpot version came out pretty good. I hope you enjoy!

I also want to apologize for not having a picture for this post. I kept forgetting to take one with each bowl I ate, until it was all gone. But I promise to make sure to take one the next time I make this and will update the post. Thank you!

