Okay, so I know with posts like these it sounds like I’m going through the cliché steps of someone who’s heartbroken. You know the eating tub of ice cream, watching romantic movies while crying, have a girlfriend night of burning your-exes-stuff and staying in your pajamas for a week/month. I haven’t done any of that, except the romantic movies, but I like romance comedies in general. I’m sorry; I’m not purposely picking or poking fun of anyone who’s doing any of the above. Everybody grieves differently and you need to do what you need to do to get through and if ice cream helps, eat it!

I think for the most part I’m okay. Although the breakup was recent, my heart broke long before that. I feel that I went through all the 5 stages of grief during the last few years of my relationship and that is why I’m not really showing signs of someone who got dumped. With that being said, I’m not 100% healed either. So why am I posting this if not venting or begrudging my ex? Because this isn’t about him.

You know how after a breakup, everybody tells you, “Well now is the time for you to find you.” Yes go ahead, roll your eyes because I use to (secretly). I don’t know if it is because I am older, but it is true. After being in an 8 years relationship; who am I…really? I find it mind-boggling that I’m asking myself that. And this article I read, “How to Be Your Own Perfect Lover” – by Alice Grist, HelloGiggles. I think it’s a great article about love and love starts with loving yourself: http://www.refinery29.com/hello-giggles/10

Now is the time to rediscover myself, and if this was a movie the cliché move for me is to hop on a plane to Tuscany or some other regions of Europe. Hey, if that’s what I want to do. The good thing about dating yourself is you don’t have to wait for the other party to get their schedule together.

