20130321-230301.jpg

The Boyfriend and I stayed at one of Austin’s historical hotels, The Driskill (supposedly haunted). They offer free tours for guest and $20 for the public. We weren’t able to fit the tour in our schedule, but definitely will the next time we stay here. The hotel is amazingly gorgeous, I just love all the little details.

*Le sigh* I miss the bed and room, so comfy. It still took me awhile before I fell asleep, that happens when it’s not my own bed no matter how lovely it is.

20130321-230313.jpg

Met up with friends for dinner at Cho Sushi, one of them was actually working. *Drools* So delicious!!! I would name the rolls we had, but I can’t remember except it was yummy in my tummy. I was so full I couldn’t eat dessert, but then I did.

After dinner the Boyfriend and I walked around the infamous 6th street. We went inside Lucky Lizard Curios & Gifts, they actually have some cute things there. I was debating over two items, but then I saw this vinyl toy of a monster telling The Little Red Riding Hood story using puppets and it instantly won me over.

The next morning we watched a parade from our hotel room. They weren’t kidding when they said there’s always something going on in Austin. Then we checked out, had dim sum with a friend at Shanghai Restaurant and headed to Staple: The Independent Media Expo (the main reason we were in Austin — aside from Boyfriend’s meetings w/clients) .

[ Last year’s Staple: 1, 2, 3 ]

20130321-230327.jpg

Aren’t my friends’ dogs cute? Yes they are, especially while playing with bubbles^^
Now I need to get a fishing pole toy and bubbles for my own Mr. Dog.

20130321-230339.jpg

This year’s Staple, I picked up Liz Prince’s Delayed Replays. It’s too bad she wasn’t there, I would had liked to pick up her I Swallowed the Key to My Heart series. I also bought one of the Bad Kitties by Amanda Michael Design. I’m not a fan of cats, but it was cute and inexpensive. Bad Kitty really is bad, she kept interfering when I tried to take pictures.

Austin! You’re only 2.5 hours away from Houston, yet you’re different enough that I felt like I was in another state.
I shall see you again!
…Do we have a Texan way of saying good-bye?

