0717201101

Went to see the last Harry Potter movie with TD & BT. [Yep, changed the privacy format again. I got the idea from my friend AR. The use of for example, Ms. A, well too many people have the same first initials] I haven’t seen TD in awhile, maybe 2-3 months. She’s a member of our little movie club. TD, I still can’t remember the last movie we saw =P

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2 was good, but not great. It was missing something, I’m not sure what though. BT thought that the ending…nevermind, don’t want to spoil for those who haven’t seen it and planning to.

Since I’m already on this topic, earlier in the week on NPR they talked about the next big book series to follow the footsteps of Harry Potter and Twilight. The only one I can recall is The Hunger Game. It’s about a postapocalyptic world and the U.S. is broken down into districts. Each district nominates one boy and one girl to fight to their death on live TV. It sounds interesting, I think I’m going to check it out at the library or bookstore.

Now I don’t pick up books due to popularity, but I think for book series the popular ones are usually good. I’ve read several not so popular and most of them I lost interest halfway through. Example: Charlie Bone: Children of the Red King Series, The Uglies, and House of Night. Or series I’ve finished, but feel unsatisfied. Example: Vampire Diaries, The Luxe, Poison Study, and The Sweet Far Thing: Gemma Doyle Series. Perhaps I should also look into reading The Game of Thrones, which has been picked up by HBO and made into a TV show. If anyone out there have a series they would like to suggest, I’m all ears.

Ok back to hanging out with TD & BT. We went to Red Mango after the movie. We had some yogurt, chatted, and then parted ways. In the evening Boyfriend and I went to grab dinner outside. We were headed to a pho restaurant, but ended up at Saigon Buffet due to curiosity. Saigon Buffet is not your typical buffet, it is mostly Vietnamese food and not much to choose from either. Seriously I’ve seen high school cafeterias that has more selection then they do. I have to admit though their food was delicious. They also had hotpot, but we were not sure if that was seperate pricing.

0717201102

The atmosphere is another thing; dim lighting, disco ball and live Vietnamese music. The dance floor seemed like it took up half of the restaurant. Honestly when Boyfriend and I went in, we thought we were intruding someone’s private party. Kids were dancing and running everywhere (there was a large family celebrating Grandfather’s birthday). This restaurant reminds me of my childhood families & friends get togethers. I’m not sure if we will be going back in the future, but it was interesting.

Saigon Oi Vinh Biet – Artist Unknown, but I think it Ngoc Lan

