090720091

Ruben Toledo

“His fashion illustrations have appeared in Vogue, Harper’s Bazaar, The New Yorker, Paper, Interview, and The New York Times, and his commissions have included Tiffany & Co., Estee Lauder, and Nordstrom’s national advertising campaign. Ruben Toledo’s book design for Penguin Classics represents the marriage of art and fashion to literature.”

-the Penguin Group

090720092

I was checking out the “Buy 1 Get 1 Half off” table at Border’s and the illustrated covers caught my eyes. I’ve been meaning to pick up a copy of Pride and Prejudice, so that when I read Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, I get the inside jokes if any. I chose Wuthering Heights over The Scarlet Letter, both I’ve read in high school, both a bit depressing (Scarlet Letter more then) from my recollection anyways. But now I’m thinking if I should go back and get it, just to complete the set. Well I know I would reread it if I had it.

Cover for The Scarlet Letter
Harper’s Bazaar Article “A Fashionable Life: Isabel and Ruben Toledo”

